April 17, 2021


Latest online bangla news | bd, world, Sports, photo, video live | Norobotsverification

Jahangirabad wins Bangladesh Games cricket

Sports Reporter: Jahangirabad has won the Bangladesh Games Cricket for the first time. Jahangirabad lost to Barind Central Zone by 3 wickets in their second match yesterday. However, Barindra started with the victory in the first match. Batting first at the Barisal Divisional Stadium yesterday, Barindra lost all his wickets in the allotted 50 overs and scored 235 runs. The duo of captain Naeem Ahmed and Zakaria Islam got enough capital to fight in the half-century.

Captain Naeem pulled Barindra who was in danger after losing 3 wickets for 20 runs. Barindra handled the initial disaster by relying on his responsible 54-run innings. The innings, which was arranged in 5 fours from 8 balls, ended in a run out. After Naeem’s innings, Zakaria, who came down to the middle order, played a stormy innings of 74 runs off 7 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes. Shahriar Alam, Sanjidur Rahman and Abu Bakkar of Jahangirabad took two wickets each.

Jahangirabad stumbled at the start after batting at the target of 237 runs to win. When Rezwan Hossain returned to the dressing room with 3 runs, Jisan Alam and captain Amir Hossain took the helm of the team. In the second wicket, the duo averaged 85 runs and paved the way for the victory. Jisan hit 10 fours and two sixes off 53 balls in a stormy innings of 61 runs at 133.96 strikeouts. Captain Amir Hossain also returned with 70 runs after losing his partner. Aamir made his innings with 6 fours and 1 six off 7 balls. After the dismissal of these two, Jahangirabad started losing wickets at regular intervals. However, Monir Hossain played a match-winning innings, keeping one side at bay. Monir remained unbeaten on 52 off 72 balls with six fours. Besides, Sanjidur Rahman remained unbeaten on 11 off 12 balls. As a result, Jahangirabad reached the target losing 8 wickets in 45.1 overs. Fahim, who took 6 wickets in the previous match for Barindra, was wicketless in this match. Zakaria Islam has taken maximum two wickets for the team after half a century.
On the last day of the cycling competition at the Bangabandhu 9th Bangladesh Games, Army cyclists set records in all the five events. In the women’s 1200m team time trial held at the Army Stadium, Army artists Khatun Subarna Barma, Samapati Biswas and Geeta Roy set a new record in 1 minute 52.69 seconds. He set a new record in 14.59 seconds. The previous record in 2017 was 2 minutes 21.32 seconds (Ansar). In the women’s 4,000m scratch race, Army’s Subarna Burma set a new record in 6 minutes 03.56 seconds.

The previous record was 8 minutes 53 seconds in 2017 to end the then BJMC. Faisala Hossain, Shariful Islam, Mizanur Rahman and Helal Uddin set a new record in the men’s 4000m team pursuit in 5 minutes 52.18 seconds. The previous record was held by Bangladesh Ansar in 2017 at 6 minutes 12.4 seconds. In the women’s 2000m team pursuit, Army artists Khatun, Subarna Burma, Samapti Biswas and Sumitra Gain set a new record in 3 minutes 17.84 seconds. The previous record was 3 minutes 30.61 seconds for Ansar in 2016. At the end of the four-day game, 13 new national records were set out of 21 events.