April 15, 2021


Latest online bangla news | bd, world, Sports, photo, video live | Norobotsverification

This time the joint council is coming under the leadership of BGMEA

BGMEA, an association of garment industry owners, will take over the board of directors for the 2021-23 term. In the election held last Sunday, the joint council has won 24 out of 35 director posts in Dhaka and Chittagong. The ABM Samsuddin-led forum has won 11 director posts.

Faruk Hasan won the election with a maximum of 1,204 votes. On the other hand, the team leader of the forum ABM Samsuddin lost. He got 904 votes. And if he got only 9 votes, he would have won the post of director. However, Rubana Haque, the current president of BGMEA, who was elected on behalf of the forum despite losing the party leader, won with the second highest number of 1,156 votes. His son Navidul Haque won with 943 votes. As a result, mother and son are coming to the board of BGMEA for the first time.

After eight long years, competitive elections were held in BGMEA. In accordance with the health rules, voting was held for ten hours instead of eight hours at the Radisson Hotel in Dhaka and at the BGMEA regional office in Chittagong. The election was held on Sunday without any untoward incident. In this 1,996 people or 6 percent voters have given their verdict. The BGMEA Election Board unofficially announced the names of the winners at around 12:30 pm that night.


In this year’s BGMEA elections, 70 candidates from the election-centric alliance Sammilita Parishad and Forum contested for 35 director posts in Dhaka and Chittagong. Another alliance called the Swadhinata Parishad jointly elected with the Sammilita Parishad.
Apart from Farooq Hasan, the other winners of the joint council in Dhaka are SM Mannan, Arshad Jamal, Shahidullah Azim, Shahreen Salam, Asif Ashraf, Md. Mohiuddin Rubel, Tanvir Ahmed, Md. Khasru Chowdhury, Abdullah Hill Rakib, Harun Aur Rashid, Rajiv Chowdhury, Miran Ali, Khandaker Rafiqul Islam, Imranur Rahman, Nasir Uddin and Sajjadur Rahman Mridha. The winners of the forum are Rubana Haque, MA Rahim, Mahmud Hasan Khan, Asif Ibrahim, Faisal Samad, Navidul Haque, Vidia Amrit Khan, Enamul Haque Khan, Mizanur Rahman.

The winners of the joint council in Chittagong are Syed Nazrul Islam, Tanvir Habib, AM Shafiul Karim, Md. Hasan, M Ahsanul Haque, Rakibul Alam Chowdhury, Mohammad Meraj-e-Mostafa. And won from the forum. M Mohiuddin Chowdhury and Mohammad Abdus Salam.

Among those selected are several second-generation businessmen. Each of them has joined the business started by their father after completing their higher education. The parents of four of them have served as the president of the organization. However, five second-generation businessmen lost the election.

Rubana Haque, the current president of BGMEA, told Prothom Alo yesterday, “Greetings to those who are coming to lead the organization.” I will try to work with honesty and dedication in the next board as well. I will cooperate with the government. ‘
The new committee headed by Farooq Hasan is scheduled to take charge of BGMEA on April 20. There are still some formalities left. For example, the 35 winning directors will elect a president and seven vice-presidents from among themselves on April 17. Out of the seven vice presidents, five will be elected from Dhaka and two from Chittagong.

When asked, the next president of BGMEA, Farooq Hasan, told Prothom Alo yesterday, “Even if elected from the joint council, I will be the president of all.” My goal is to unite everyone and establish a strong BGMEA. ‘Responding to a question, he said,’ The owners of the readymade garment industry are going through a difficult time because of Corona. They need some policy support. Implementing that will be the first task of the board under my leadership. ‘

The last time BGMEA was elected was in 2013 by the votes of the general members. The joint council and forum then negotiated for two terms in the leadership election.